View Single Post
Old 04-19-2010, 06:59 AM  
calmlikeabomb
Confirmed User

Lookin' for a job transfer - web development

I've been a web developer at the Florida Institute of Technology for the past 2.5 years. Prior to being hired full-time on salary I freelanced in the adult world for 4.5 years.

All has been good here, but I've began to feel like this place is backing me into a corner. With no room for advancement. There are only two web developer's here @ F.I.T. including myself. We have built many systems such as:
  • Web Content Management System (WCMS) over 200 university websites being managed by students, faculty and staff.
  • PantherPass where all students check-in once on campus.
  • Policy Management System that is used campus wide for the management of official university policies by all staff members and executives.
  • Dorm Inspection System that all Resident Assistance use to inspect dorms and file digital reports every semester.
  • Newsroom for the management of all official university news.
  • Faculty Profile System used by all staff and faculty to manage their own private profiles that ties into the universities telecommunications system.

To make a long story short, we lost our graphics designer over 6 months ago and everything being produced here looks like shit. He did not like working here, and the university has shown no interest in hiring a new person until last week - when our other web developer placed his 2 week notice. Our "webmaster" doesn't know how to code or manage projects and sends me out to do all of the consultations with clients.

We developed a new home page that has been ready to go live for the past 4 months. located here:

http://web-demos.fit.edu/redesign/prototypes/2.3.5/